Crowdfunding Nerds: Kickstarter Marketing For Board Games & Beyond!
2022 Board Game Industry Predictions In Review

2022 Board Game Industry Predictions In Review

December 5, 2022

The Crowdfunding Nerds review last years predictions and discuss the developments and trends of the board game industry in 2022.

00:04:02 – Reviewing Rick's First 2022 Prediction
00:07:31 – Reviewing The Elden Ring Kickstarter Campaign
00:21:27 – Reviewing Rick's Second 2022 Prediction
00:23:58 – Reviewing Andrew's First 2022 Prediction
00:30:19 - Reviewing Andrew's Second 2022 Prediction
00:36:07 – Reviewing Andrew’s Third 2022 Prediction
00:46:51 - Reviewing Sean’s Only 2022 Prediction

Shownotes

Gabe Barrett’s YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/@gabebarrett

2022 Crowdfunding Predictions & Forecasts For Tabletop Marketing - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode52/

Elden Ring The Board Game - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/elden-ring-the-board-game

Summer Vacation Spend Up 91% - https://www.travelagentcentral.com/your-business/stats-summer-vacation-spend-91-percent-over-pre-covid-levels

Let’s Talk Zombicide With Ross Thompson

Let’s Talk Zombicide With Ross Thompson

November 29, 2022

The Crowdfunding Nerds continue their discussion with Ross Thompson on marketing big games while diving into the Zombicide Kickstarter campaign.

00:00:44 – Pricing Big Games
00:06:48 – What Steamforged Games Does With Their Kickstarter Campaigns
00:11:25 – Focus On The Experience of Big Games
00:14:41 – The Need For A Schedule
00:18:37 – Being Intentional With Social Media Feed Scrolling
00:20:57 – Being Intentional About Sharing Politics On Social Media
00:33:30 - Kickstarter Comment Moderation
00:38:58 – The Zombicide Kickstarter Launch & Stretch Goals
00:51:18 – Ross Thompson’s Marketing Advice For Today
01:00:24 – Super Cool Marketing Lessons?

Elden Ring: The Board Game - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/elden-ring-the-board-game

Resident Evil™: The Board Game - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/resident-evil-board-game/

Adventures & Academia: First Class - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/russrmc/adventures-and-academia-first-class

RuneScape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/runescape-board-game

Epic Encounters: Local Legends - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/local-legends-1

Rivet Wars: Reloaded - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/rivet-wars-reloaded

Godtear - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/steamforged/godtearElden Ring Press Event - https://steamforged.com/en-gb/blogs/brands/what-went-on-at-the-elden-ring-the-board-game-press-event

Amy Hennig On Gaming Experiences - https://youtu.be/caURIb9cOIg?t=4505

Facebook News Feed Eradicator Browser Extension - https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/news-feed-eradicator/

Warhammer Moderation - https://www.warhammer-community.com/2021/11/19/the-imperium-is-driven-by-hate-warhammer-is-not/

Jamey Stegmaier Quits Twitter - https://stonemaiergames.com/why-i-quit-twitter-its-not-you-its-me/

Kickstarter Comment Moderation Update - https://www.kickstarter.com/blog/improving-comment-moderationpart-of-our-commitment-to-keeping-0

Zombicide - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/cmon/zombicide

Ogre Designer's Edition - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sjgames/ogre-designers-edition

TGN - https://www.tabletopgamingnews.com/ 

Beast of War - https://www.beastsofwar.com/

ICv2 - https://icv2.com/

Bell of Lost Souls - https://www.belloflostsouls.net/

Dropfleet Commander - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/hawkwargames/dropfleet-commander

Polygon - https://www.polygon.com/

io9 - https://gizmodo.com/io9

Mojo Nation - https://mojo-nation.com/about-mojo/

Tabletop Game Jobs - https://www.facebook.com/groups/TabletopJobs

Ross Thompson LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/ross-thompson-52a0b844/

Marketing BIG Games With Ross Thompson

Marketing BIG Games With Ross Thompson

November 21, 2022

Ross Thompson joins the Crowdfunding Nerds to chop marketing big board games.

00:03:18 - Who is Ross Thompson
00:14:58 – Getting More People Into The Hobby
00:22:32 – Integrating Apps With Board Games
00:28:09 – When Is A Big Board Game Too Big?
00:34:30 – What makes A Big Game?
00:40:33 – Is Magic The Gathering A Big Game?

Miskatonic School for Girls - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1225737959/miskatonic-school-for-girls-deck-building-game

Zombicide - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/cmon/zombicide

Iron Maiden Zombicide - https://cmon.com/pre-orders/iron-maiden

Ninja Division - https://ninjadivision.com/

Super Dungeon Explore - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sodapopminiatures/super-dungeon-explore-legends

IDW Publishing - https://www.idwpublishing.com/

Steamforged Games - https://steamforged.com/en-gb

Ex-illis - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/47475/ex-illis

Heroes of Might & Magic III The Board Game - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/archonstudio/homm3boardgame

Kingdom Death: Monster - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/poots/kingdom-death-monster

Heroscape Board Game - https://hasbropulse.com/collections/haslab/products/heroscape-age-of-annihilation-vanguard-edition

100th Episode Special + Behind The Scenes!

100th Episode Special + Behind The Scenes!

November 14, 2022

In this special 100 episode celebration the Crowdfunding Nerds discuss the top 5 game changer moments since launching the podcast. The episode also includes a bonus episode where we talk about random things we love.

00:02:18 – Nerds News + Kickstarter Pixel Update
00:07:46 – How Many People Did Kickstarter Bring In For Deliverance?
00:11:44 – The 5 Most Mind Blowing Things From Crowdfunding Nerds That Will Bring You To The Next Level & Transform Your Life
00:13:08 – Game Changer #1 - Landing Page & Ads
00:15:13 - Game Changer #2 – Using Landing Pages On Live Kickstarter Projects
00:18:51 - Game Changer #3 – Backer Kit Referral Codes
00:24:50 - Game Changer #4 – Surveying Your Audience
00:25:34 – Game Changer #5 – Redundancy

Shownotes 

The Last of Us: Escape the Dark - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/themeborne/the-last-of-us-escape-the-dark

Kickstarter Facebook Pixel Update - https://updates.kickstarter.com/new-tools-to-help-creators-market-their-projects/

Snap Ships Tactics - https://ks.snapshipstactics.com/

Fractured Veil - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/paddlecreekgames/fractured-veil-a-survival-and-base-building-multiplayer

Backerkit Referral Links & Widgets - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode90/

Surveying Your Community – Why & How You Should Do It - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode99/

5 Profitable Things You Can Do During Your Kickstarter Mid-Campaign Slump - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode29/

Escape From Stalingrad Z - https://gamefound.com/projects/rayboxgames/escape-from-sttalingrad-z#/section/project-overview

Dofus MMORPG - https://www.dofus.com/en/prehome

How To Run A Successful Tabletop Business With Chris Birch Of Modiphius Entertainment - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode50/

Discord App Directory - https://discord.com/blog/building-the-future-of-discord

2022 Crowdfunding Predictions & Forecasts - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode52/

Skyrim On Gamefound - https://gamefound.com/projects/modiphius/the-elder-scrolls-v-skyrim-the-board-game

Crowdfunding Nerds Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/crowdfundingnerds

Surveying Your Kickstarter Community – Why & How You Should Do It

Surveying Your Kickstarter Community – Why & How You Should Do It

November 8, 2022

The crowdfunding nerds surveyed the Deliverance Board Game community and share valuable insights and tips to survey your own community.

00:01:39 – Substack Chat
00:05:34 – Facebook Metaverse – Does It Have A Future?
00:16:21 – Why Survey Your Community?
00:18:24 – When To Survey Your Community
00:19:39 – Using Sections In Your Survey
00:23:56 – How To Motivate Fans To Do You Survey
00:29:30 – Why You Should Use Google Forms To Survey
00:30:48 – First Question To Ask
00:35:01 – Have Cheaper Pledge Options
00:37:32 – Ask How People Heard About Your Game
00:44:26 – Ask What They Want To See Next From You
00:50:58 – Ask How Often They Want Updates

Shownotes

Substack Chat Update - https://on.substack.com/p/chat

Ingress Game - https://ingress.com/

Riot Games MMO - https://www.riotgames.com/en/mmo-recruiting

Brave Browser RSS feeds - https://brave.com/brave-today-rss/

Google Forms - https://www.google.com/forms/about/

Poem of Buvaisar Saitiev - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJoccjJ5KYw

Deliverance Survey Example - https://forms.gle/yBMPr4WR2nDd77VR8

How Being Positive Makes You More Money

How Being Positive Makes You More Money

October 31, 2022

The Crowdfunding Nerds talk about being positive on purpose, even when things are mostly negative, and how it can aid you in winning favor with your backers!

00:07:08 – Defining Positivity
00:11:49 – Constructive Criticism
00:17:49 – Don’t Feed The Trolls
00:24:11 – Turning Something Negative Into Something Positive
00:30:55 – How A Positive Framing Impacts Your Business
00:35:26 – Balancing Positivity With Authenticity

Shownotes

Oathsworn: Into The Deepwood (2nd Edition) - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/shadowborne-games/oathsworn-into-the-deepwood-second-printing/

Zoo Tycoon: The Board Game - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/marcduer/zoo-tycoon-the-board-game/

Bayonetta Voice Actor Responds To Backlash - https://www.gamespot.com/articles/original-bayonetta-voice-actor-responds-to-backlash-confirms-she-was-offered-15k-for-bayonetta-3/1100-6508548/

Deliverance Ratings - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/273814/deliverance/ratings

Pastor Watch - https://nypost.com/2022/08/17/missouri-pastor-berates-congregation-for-not-buying-him-new-watch/

How To Interact With Fans In Real Life

How To Interact With Fans In Real Life

October 24, 2022

Andrew is back from a convention where he interacted with many super fans. He shares some tips and advice when interacting with fans face to face.

00:00:39 – Monty Python Kickstarter & Launching TTRPG’s Off Known IPs
00:04:28 – Meta Stock (Facebook) Down 60% In A Year
00:08:31 – Sean’s Theory On Marketing
00:10:05 – Richard’s Conspiracy Theory
00:10:52 – Kickstarter’s New CEO, Everette Taylor
00:18:48 – The Goal Of Engaging Fans At Conventions
00:25:06 – Investing In Your Fans
00:27:29 – Ask Questions & Listen
00:29:41 – Tips For Meeting Fans For The First Time
00:33:35 – Motivations Of Small Conventions
 00:35:58 – Treat People Like They Matter

Shownotes

Monty Python's Cocurricular Mediaeval Reenactment Programme - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/exaltedfuneral/monty-pythons-cocurricular-mediaeval-reenactment-programme

Avatar Legends: The Roleplaying Game https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/magpiegames/avatar-legends-the-roleplaying-game

Twitch Con 2022 Madness - https://www.dailydot.com/debug/adriana-chechik-breaks-back-twitchcon-ball-pit/

Kickstarter's New CEO, Everette Taylor - https://updates.kickstarter.com/hello/

Kickstarter’s Forward Funds Program - https://updates.kickstarter.com/building-a-more-diverse-creative/

Self-Promotion Without Andrew Lowen

Self-Promotion Without Andrew Lowen

October 17, 2022

Uh oh ... Andrew is away and someone thought it was a good idea to allow Rick and Sean to do the podcast by themselves! They talk internet privacy, censorship and self-promotion done wrong.

00:01:10 – PayPal Goes Full Dystopian
00:05:30 – Why Big Tech TOS Are Meaningless
00:16:44 – Crowdfunding Nerds Course Overview
00:21:53 – Self-Promotion: The “I” Must Die
00:27:17 - Self-Promotion: Don’t Spam Ma'am
00:32:25 – Self-Promotion: Delete, “Delete If Not Allowed” From Your Life
00:34:40 – Self-Promotion: Meme’s Are Not For Selling
00:37:43 – Self-Promotion: Follow For Follow
00:43:09 – Spaces To Find Organic Traffic
00:45:42 – Richard’s Secret (And Untested) Source Of Organic Traffic

PayPal ‘Misinformation’ Article - https://www.nationalreview.com/news/new-paypal-policy-permits-company-to-fine-users-2500-for-misinformation/

When To Spend $10,000 On A Kickstarter Video With Ori Kagan of Kagan Productions - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode93/

PayPal Founder, David Marcus Tweet - https://twitter.com/davidmarcus/status/1578795041719750663

Monero - https://www.getmonero.org/

Panquake Social - https://panquake.com/

Zion Social - https://www.zion.fyi/

The Virtuous Cycle of Kickstarter Marketing - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/the-virtuous-cycle-of-kickstarter-marketing/

Hygiene Factors Of Your Kickstarter Campaign - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode18/

4.5 Outcomes You Need To Consider Before Going To Kickstarter - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode5/

Crowdfunding Nerds Facebook Community - https://www.facebook.com/groups/crowdfundingnerds

Self-Promotion Mistakes: Avoid These Pitfalls For Effective Organic Marketing - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/self-promotion-mistakes-to-avoid/

How to properly market on Reddit (and get over a million views) - https://pegasusgames.medium.com/how-to-properly-market-on-reddit-and-get-over-a-million-views-94b582bd9792

Odysee - https://odysee.com/$/invite/@Crowdfundingnerds

Mailerlite - https://www.mailerlite.com/

Playing Around Intellectual Properties with Max Dennis

Playing Around Intellectual Properties with Max Dennis

October 10, 2022

The Crowdfunding Nerds interview Max Dennis of Millian Games to discuss his campaign Sauria: The Dinosaur Park Survival Game, while navigating a product that includes many references to a larger Intellectual property.

00:10:11 – How Sauria Came To Be
00:13:22 – Being Careful Not To Step On A Large IPs Toes
00:16:11 – Capturing The Feeling of The IP
00:17:43 – How To Get People To Buy Into Your Idea
00:21:52 – Involving Your Backers In The Process
00:27:57 – The Impact of Tabletop Simulator On A Campaign
00:29:08 – Max’s Regrets – Fiver & Upwork
00:29:08 – Thinking of Expansions After A Successful Kickstarter
00:38:46 – Opportunities That Can Open Up After A Kickstarter Campaign
00:49:11 – Examples Of IP References
00:56:28 – Mall Cop Backers

Shownotes

5 Profitable Things You Can Do During Your Kickstarter Mid-Campaign Slump - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode29/

Hero Time Manufacturing - https://www.herotime1.com/

Sauria - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/milliangames/sauria-the-dinosaur-park-survival-game

Sauria Kicktraq - https://www.kicktraq.com/projects/milliangames/sauria-the-dinosaur-park-survival-game/#chart-daily

How To Make An Awesome Kickstarter Video w/ David Diaz - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode67/

When To Spend $10,000 On A Kickstarter Video With Ori Kagan of Kagan Productions - https://crowdfundingnerds.com/episode93/

Upper Deck - https://upperdeckstore.com/games/legendary.html

Temtem - https://store.steampowered.com/app/745920/Temtem/

Croc Gloves Cease & Desist - https://www.reddit.com/r/pics/comments/co6h3d/i_got_a_cease_and_desist_for_making_the_crocs/

Millian Games - https://milliangames.com/

Sauria Survivors Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/1574880479570531

Your ”Pitch” Is Kind Of A Big Deal

Your ”Pitch” Is Kind Of A Big Deal

October 3, 2022

The Corwdfunding Nerds are joined by Willem Delventhal of the Indie Game Academy to discuss video game marketing and the benefits of publicly pitching your game to peers, with a pit stop into how to swoon Facebook.

00:01:08 - Facebook Ad Account Restrictions
00:05:39 – Sean’s Heart-warming Message To Meta
00:07:45 – Advantages of Running Ads Through An Agency
00:11:26 – Buy An Oculus If Your Account Is Restricted
00:16:37 – Who Is Willem Delventhal
00:20:46 – The Advantage of Publicly Pitching Your Game Idea
00:27:22 – The Power of Gamification
00:40:42 – How To Stand Out In A Crowded Market
00:46:24 – Willem’s Advice On Publishing Video Games

Shownotes

Indie Game Academy - https://indiegameacademy.com/

Together Labs - https://togetherlabs.com/

Delve Bros - https://www.delvebros.com/

Guy Kawasaki  - https://www.gravitasinv.com/reading-book/art-start-2-0-guy-kawasaki/Gather - https://www.gather.town/

Mew and Me App - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=mam.mewandme.mewandme&hl=en_US&gl=US

Taelmoor - https://tlm.gg/

How do you crowdfund your video game? - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3oNe2dJgFY8

Willem on LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/ifyouwillem/

IGA Lunch Hour Podcast - https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/iga-lunch-hour/id1597786388

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App